February 11, 2013

  • St. Peter’s, Rome, The Destiny of Benedict

    The last time I was in Rome, more than a decade ago, I am certain that I walked 15 miles or more in one day.  I took in a DaVince exhibit, the courier who had arranged so much of it, was a dear friend’s son in his joyful untamed days of his mother’s amusement. I was certain that it would be of humor to the friend who needed amused at the time, for she was fully determined that her diabetic condition would not  leave her as an amputee, something she feared to the core.  All I was looking for was a clean ladies rest room, and thus I saw the sign among all the Government buildings, Their national museum, so with tired limbs the twelve dollars for a clean restroom and a cool place to rest just seemed to be the perfect bookends..

    There is something about Rome which makes sense, for it constantly unearths ruins from ages past, and yet it seems to take no notice that all that we long to see from The Spanish Steps at one extreme to the Vatican at the other – The antiquity of eroding fountains from hundreds of years earlier crumble with their trickle of fresh water for the thirsty.  Buildings have major damage in the eye of one who looks closely, and the nights are ruined with the constant hum of the mopeds.  Most European nations have these, but there seems to be little effort to quiet the noise, to clean the air which eats away at monuments and even at all living things; And yet the center of the known earth feels like Rome, and I thought that, might I have a second chance at life, then let me be a Roman, one with long dark curls and olive skin.  Let me wear the white wedding gown and marry in the church, gather in a Grotto with all friends and neighbors who would dance until morning, until their bodies were warm and perspring the hot sweat of evening gone and morning to come, but that slight scent which draws them to each other.

    My love and I would go away, and open the tiny treasures for each other.  I would have order pure rose oil from Paris, touch it to our perfect cotton sheets from Egyptian cloth, but for him, it would be all oils scented with spice from tropical places, but taken pure from seeds and buds, for I love fragrant oil which lingers on the skin and takes away the friction of my skin, his skin.  I would love deeply, and take in the air of my marriage bed empire, for we have so few empires which are our own, so few places to open our whole selves without the intrusion of the other world — That one which is not ours — If I were to be born Roman, that is to say, then I would belong to history in a way where I feel no belonging now.

    St Peters is where most of us go every time, for there is something there that is so powerful that once you know Catholicism, you are called back.  There I have cried for lost loved ones, and lit candles for the sick, begged God for the miracle of my brother in law’s recovery so long ago; But he died, and Huntington’s Disease is not cured, but at St. Peters, the prayers from its inception climb the walls, crawl in to the catacombs, over the Vatican treasure, the jewels, the precious stones, the finest cloth of all the earth — All is there within the prayers. I see them now, voices like mine bouncing of walls, projecting like little fireflys, the prayers, the unanswered; The pprayers, the ones which seemed almost miracle.  If I could fill the whole of St. Peters with lights that flicker and speak to each other;  just little specks, then I would have it all filled with the dead and with the living, for there is something powerful there beyond the understanding of humankind.  It is the goodness stuck to every particle within the walls, so many walls where evil wants to burn, to incinerate it all pushing back on the Etruscan trail, back, back, for evil wants people to hide out once more, to wait for the slaughter.

    St. Peters has the unseen guards, and if evil began to colapse it all and to shake thunderously then The  Holy Spirit Window with the Eagle on wing shall begin to decend and to fly, the quiet bird which watches, I tell you; it shall fly.  I can see the Eagle,  the flickering of lights, and I want the choirs to hush — just for a moment.  Please all noise and motion, for a moment; could  simply stop, for then we shall hear the rustle of all the prayers upon the wind, and I will feel my mother, my father, my brother, and you shall hear the sounds which you have waited for.

    This day has meaning, for a pope has just spoken that he shall leave the office, and he knows that all the treasures, those two he will simply believe, for he is a poor man.  He was born to parents, loved as any child, and fed from the same kettles as the poor many times.  Does Benedict know the hour is near, that something drastic must be done, for old ways have too long been lurking through the flickering particles of human kind, the dead and the living?   Was he asked to move like a mountain, for the battle ahead is too daunting.  Poor man, tired soul, I admire his farewell, and so many others should follow; Follow.  The Holy Spirit needs to fly, dive in the darkness, close the door on the offenders, for children have been hurt, and secrets were kept, and it is then when despair marches in. 

    I will walk again one day along the street of angels, and I shall walk until I tire at day’s end, but you shall not see me.  We may  walk together, then we laugh at the worry all left behind, and flicker flicker on before the great doors close on our reward.

    Barbara Everett Heintz, Author of Pinkhoneysuckle, the book on Amazon, Kindle, and Create Space

    .

Comments (2)

  • I like the way you express your thoughts– the details.

    Thank you for stopping by my blog site and commenting, as well as for the nice wishes, and San Francisco seems to be all the more appealing to me now with what you said about its weather.

    I dislike it when pictures seem to mean a whole lot more than what they should since it brings-up emotions that might leave one hang-on to the past, but it is what it is, no matter what.

    Rome sounds like one of those perfect places for a lesson in history that might interest me for a change.

    I’m not quite sure what you meant by having a close brush with the grim reaper but I sure hope you’re doing well and that it had been a rather pleasant week so far and for you to enjoy life as it comes, always.

  • @nov_way - For your comments and generous thoughts,for the mini, and the eprops, so many thanks.// I will briefly resolve the mystery of the grim reaper, for I went out of this life briefly one yr. past this October from a blood clot which managed not to kill me but to cause being in ICU anticoagulating for 6 days, then 4 months of home nursing oxygen, a disrupted life, but  I lived and signed to print my book the day I got home. I had to have a surgery 8 weeks ago, and I experienced yet another clot, and it turns out I have alll of the markers of a person, who somehow in life, has clots which form and often suceed in killing us off.  I could do a seminar on the subject, literally, but I shall spare you that. If ever surgery comes up again, they will know they cannot take me off my,  what people call blood thinners, but they must give me the antidote to my med and have me spend ICU time. Mine is genetic, all markers being positve. I had the dumbest nurses ever born, and they almost killed me off after this gallbladder surgery, for they thought my oxygen levels were low, “Because I was not working on my breathing hard enough!”  I lived through the clot once more, or they would be meeting Harvard’s best lawyers, for my son is a graduate from there as well as his wife.

    I cried when I saw him get his diploma from Dean Kegan who is now among the new Supreme Court of the USA judges — He though has chosen to be with Amazon in Santa Monica, and is the first wave of building up what will be Amazon Movies.

    If your dream is to come to this area, then I shall share with you that every main tech company in this country are here or building somewhere around the inner Bay Area.  They do this because by offering them huge salaries and San Francisco or near by; They bring in the smartest people in the world.  It is so youthful here that we just feel like the holdovers, but it is a home.

    I like to encourage young people to follow their dreams, for I was older and had children before I could travel.  You may have to work two jobs to make it happen, but Rome is ancient  history coming alive, and how the hell they built like they did seems beyond what was feasible.  Follow your dreams sweet friend, please follow. Life is precious, and you are life.  All of My Very Best Wishes, Barbara Everett Heintz

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *