January 30, 2013

  • Pinkhoneysuckle; An Old Friend’s Tears

    We hear the expression, “That if you can count the number of good friends on your fingers at the end of your life; then you have done well.”  I feel sadness when I have gotten news from home the past few years, for it is always the loss of another mother or father of the small group of people who were my neighbors and old friends.  I stop whatever I am doing, then and there, and some I just pray for, and some I cry for, because we were a small community, and everyone’s mother and father had some affect on you no matter the path; For good or want, for rich or for poorer, for that is the way it is when the nearest neighbor is fields or hills away from you, and I think a lot of us have a much harder time facing the superficial nature of so many others we will meet.

    I almost feel sorry for the person who has never known country life, for as  hard as mine was; There were rare souls we would pass whose names we did not know.  My friend Joanie is still grieving her mother, Mrs. Marie, and when I heard her mother had died, I wept all day.  Mrs. Marie was an avowed New Testament Christian, and she lived her faith.  Come twice on Sunday and then on out for Wednesday night services, and Joan would drive her after Mrs. Marie did not feel comfortable to drive anymore.

    I checked in on my old friend about a week back, for with her Mama gone, and they were, “Mama,” and “Miss,” or “Mrs.” to  southern children, and it turned out to be a good time to check on her, for it seemed that after Wednesday night service, Joanie would lay her head on her steering wheel and simply cry, and she remarked, “I can cry if I want to,” as if she needed permission.  I told her to let the tears fall, for we had so few to turn to when the storm clouds threatened, or when we had to get some help, and Joanie’s Mama took care of her family. She lost her own mother as a young woman, but Mrs. Marie would soon have an angelic other mother who I knew through out my growing up years///.  It was that way — just a few folks along the hollows which have now built up, but much of what was nice has been taken away, because those coming in had different ideas about keeping places up, and the fields where Joanie and I would play became parking places, many times, for second hand and abandoned house trailers.  Mrs. Marie had her rules, and one for certain was; “We may be poor, but we are still going to be clean,” so my friend, Joan learned from the best.

    But I wanted my friend that she could stop any where along the way and bury her head in her arms, that these were special relationships born out of being on the back roads when the only people we might see for days was a neighbor checking on a fence or bringing over an apron full of green beans, because another had plenty.  It hurts to cry, to sob, to wail, and to feel you just want some peaceful old afternoons back.  My Joan did not know that a lot of us were not allowed to touch homework, while Mrs. Marie and Mr. Leon, her Daddy, they were going to see that it was done and done well.  I find that Joan in pure innocence believed that we all lived as well as her family, partially because when you had company; Somehow you gave them the very best that you had.

    Country grief is sometimes harder, and a few of you will disagree with that, but with a Hospice background in nursing, I can tell you that it is harder, for you are connected from dawn until dusk, and my regret is that I have not been able to go back and help my friends in times of sorrow, for most times; Someone is dead and buried before you have any faint idea that they are gone.  So I try to help them knowing how we got through the first year or two of being old orphans, but I know the old, old story — That you must grieve until the grief leaves you and your slumber, and it is not our way to just let go — For how can they leave us growing older ourselves?  So we mourn, and now I can safely tell people that there are a few safe medications to help you get through the worst of it, for it is a depression like no other.

    In high school Joanie and I would go our different ways.  She will laugh herself silly to know that I thought she was the most pure and virginal girl in the county, the girl every one counted on as being the best in our class.  I believed that she stayed away from boys, and I never knew that all of those girls were dating, and most would marry soon after high school, and if a baby was not in the oven before, then it was going to be before a year was up, for girls dreamed of having lovers who looked like John Wayne, when he was younger, or Elvis with his shirt off, and the truth was that I may have been the only girl in highschool who hadn’t been felt up.  I did’t know anything about getting to bases, and I heard that some few would be seen in the local town driving around the old grill, and that way you were warned of who a couple was and was not.

    I never bothered to ask Joan and her friends what they did, for if I saw anyone it was at church.  True, my fear of men at the time was so great after my grandfather that I would have been terrified for a boy to even hold my hand, for was that another way of spreading diseases depending on where those fellows had last been sticking their hands.  It has taken me 64 years to learn that other than the fact my friend, Betty Ruth and I were reading her brother’s college literature to realize that Joanie needed to have talked to me more about such things, for she was so wise by my way of seeing things.  High school has been a long time ago, many relationships before, this long long marriage, but no one told me that I was what you might call, “Pure.”  Good Lord, I would have been a Mother Superior ten times older if the nuns, and there were few, had known this young woman was so afraid of boys and men that she immediately began to stutter and endeavored to bring them to our, “New Testament Faith.”

    I was the perfect Catholic daughter, so maybe that is why Mama would half beat me to death — To get the Catholic orders out of my head.  It just made me curiosity grow stronger about all of these faith groups which were not ours.  I cannot wait until Joan and I can sit down again to get some idea of what she and her high school friends did, for Betty and I had tunnel vision for college, and I am positive Betty was more enlightened than me, but she was probably the most academic among us.  You do not know me, and you do not know these people, so why in the heck am I writing any of this?  Maybe I need Joanie and the more mature girls from our class to make certain I am not missing out on something really important again.  Maybe I wish that I was them, and I could be near what is left of the old town, the share croppers, the roads which led to no where.

    Right now though, My old friend needs some comforting from me, so I will write little notes, and I will let all who have gone drift in and out of my vision,, for when the time comes; I know they will ease our pain.  I see them all in an afterglow, and I to not want to worship death when there is life; But let me take some of your pain, for as the back home girls with any dignity do, then we hope to lift people up, and to dry their tears.  We want to let them know that we will be there when the storm clouds rise, and thank you; A Lynchburg Lemon Aide would taste just fine, so let’s all go out and sit for a time, for we want to hear the news from up the road.  That is who we were, and who we are in some ways, even as I sit on the edge of California. 

    Maybe if I get back that way Joan and I can go pick some blackberries, make some pies, and have the old friends tell us what really happened on those weekend nights.  Who is lost; who is gone, and  was 1966 a very good year?

    Barbara Everett Heintz, “Pinkhoneysuckle,” Amazon, Kindle, and Create Space KDP

     

Comments (4)

  • Just as I have come to expect, an excellent post from you.  You may or may not have read about my brother-in-law going to lunch and celebrating Bobby’s Dad’s life.  There were no tears, only the joy we felt in knowing him.  I had him for only 31 years but he really captured my heart on my wedding day.  He took my shoulders into his hands and looked me straight in the eye and said, “If you are ever going to back out, now is the time.”  My reply was that I never was more sure of anything in my life.  There was something in his voice that was like a real dad, he was not going to hold it against me if I did want to back out but only a reminder that now would be the time.

    Bobby and I have had our arguments, disagreements, pouts, what ever you might want to call them but the river runs deep and all of the above is only surface stuff.  I am 8 years Bobby’s senior.  Our proposal was when I asked him “How is it going to feel being married to an old woman?”  “I don’t think it will be so bad.”  And I think he still feels that way even though my parts are getting worn out and some can’t be replaced, they don’t carry a replacement for those things.

    I think what we had was a mini Irish wake.  We celebrated his life without mourning his death.  It seems no one else in the family is ready for that yet but we were so after him taking me for a doctors appointment we went out for a light bite to eat and were there for at least two hours.  And the bestest part is that he can never be replaced.  I know of no one else that will hold a live spark plug wire on a running car and “reach out and touch someone” or literally chew you out for something you shouldn’t have done with a twinkle in his eye that says he is secretly laughing at you because probably he had made the same mistake when he was younger. 

    He was always there when you were in a jam but he let you make your own mistakes so that you would learn.  Few people have that quality but I would like to think I might learn it when I grow up.

    Although I am a city girl, my dad’s parents came from Georgia to a little town called Wheatland Texas…now with the buildup and spreading of the cities surrounding it is little more than a name on a cemetary fence. I got the impression that country living was not just where you lived but the whole world.  Of course people you knew that lived the other side of the hollow were ‘family’.

    My congratulations to your friends that were lucky enough to have such an icon in their lives.

  • @mommachatter - I have no doubt that Bobby saw through those Irish eyes, the fairy crystals sprinkled with gold dust when he married you.  He saw strength, for in reading your writings, that shines through. Eight years older?  Young  men would be wise to know that psychiatrist see this as ideal, for women usually live longer, and men are absolutely behind women in maturation, so all things begin to even out if the wife, not the husband is a little older. That is from the lips of one who was  president of a state psychiatric association with fifty years practice behind him, and he had, “Seen every situation in relationships imaginable.” I appreciate beyond words that you read my writing and that you can understand the ways of a woman with country and city roots.

    Bobby saw love, and we all wear out as my husband and I look at love and  examine our latest morning pain, but we know love, and we occassionally enjoy shocking the young with our exploits in to some things which might make them blush.  May their faces be on fire for a long time, for we  are not finished yet!  I am so glad that you met a husband, a lover, a brother in law of such depth, and the family which binds, as you say — like a river running deep.

    I do not cry over the death of ones I love; I weep, sob, have visceral pain, for I know it is going to be a whille before we meet once more and that we will be changed.  All people of faith know that, but I wish that I did not fold  and hurt, for I agree so much that those who live well and who make our lives richer should be celebrated.  I wish we would all just gather with a body or the ashes, raise our glasses, wipe our tears, and sing.  Give their belongings of clothing and every day things to the needy — have our funerals, the final blessings, and leave outragious things at the grave, throw them in for the journey, perhaps.  Who but them needs their favorite old shoes, the grungy cap we longed to burn — I would like to see us in laughter, but some of us just feel the grief, wear the dress of the sorrowful,, and grieve.  It is born in to us, for we are children of the earth, and I have admired the coping skills of those who can share the best of all things about the lost.

    I feel you have a gift to push away the dark and to see the light.  You and your Bobby will carry on.  Just help the others, for it is going to take a while.  It takes some to shed the teers and some to wipe them away.  Keep a large handkerchief in your pockets, and dry the faces of those not ready for the good-bye.  You must have known that in being together you could share, not only the passion but the harder things as well.

    My blessings and peace be with you.  Ireland came to Texas just leaving the sod and not the people behind. This day the hours of light are beginning to linger, so walk in that light.  Walk in to that light of the living, and for your dead; Let them sleep. wo

    You are among, “Pinkhoneysuckles,” greatest fans, and each day I wake up wanting me back to get my work done — To catch up with my letters and to prepare the return to Ohio.  My body is still demanding sleep, far too many hours, even with cutting all meds, but I will be returning to my largest radio audience yet — The book is off, an Appalachian lass is my interviewer at WGUC, Cincinnati — I am recovered from the surgery, but my body lags behind in energy.  I expect a day’s work of myself, but the most I have been able to manage is taking care of myself.  Perhaps the embolism and then the large surgery was just too much, and I should forgive myself for all that I cannot do.  I need to work though, to straighten our things, so that I can get back to the river for the white blossoms of the Cincinnati Spring.  I am so tired of being ill and feeling of little use.

    May we all gather with renewed strength, build our little mountains, send the clutter of mind and body sailing.  We have rejoicing to do — So hear me Lord, and may this family, Bobby, Karen, and all they know consider the gain and not the lost.

    Thank you for abding faith.

    Love, Barb — “Pinkhoneysuckle,”, Amazon, Kindle, Create Space

  • Your friend is definitely lucky to know you.

  • @lonelywanderer2 - He llo Dear Perry, I feel so sad that spring is coming to both of my worlds, and I amcertain that it is probably April before you put the heavy winter things away.  I like to be a good friend,and I just have always been able to pull out of horrendously awful medical problems; But this time it is with impatience, feeling depressed about it, and with the missed management in the hopital when the blood clot pain came over me again.  My physicians tell me to get in as soon as it begins, and not to feel embarassed if it is arthristis or pain referred from other places  – There is such a small window to avoid major damage if not death.

    Alright, “My Friend,” Do you want to make me some buttons?  I would be glad to give you the job.  You can photograph the blossom from my book, but I do need a price list; So you are among the few who have an address for me.  If it is not the kind of thing you do for your store, then I will understand. I have some left back in Cincinnati, but those were so tiny that I knew taking then up to a quarter size would surely look better.

    You are a precious friend, so why do you not give yourself some credit.  I hope all is well, and I am trying to get ready to get back to Cincinnati. A scan this Friday of my lungs will be the ticket, and this house is overwhelming in so many ways. It is definitely not pretty, though by standards here — It is large. Hallways were a big thing back in 1929, after the 1906 quake, but people were putting so much in the foundations and showed poor buildings above ground, and now my husband no longer has the energy to remodel which was his play time way back then.  People do not even do a whole lot for showings, becuse the big deal if trying to get in first and to out bid the Chinese.

    I am so apologetic, for I think I have mentioned this to you before, but we have been to house showings up here on the hill with clohes all over the bed, dirty kitchens, and no closets, but people will be there with a decorator and an achitect. This is a whole diferent bll park.

    Are things better these days, Perry? I pray for you, and never let things get to a point where you tear the fabric of your life time in to such threads there is not gluing things together, for it is not unheard of that you might benefit from a major life’s change.

    That is it or now, Barb

    “Pinkhonesuckle,” –Amazon, Kindle, Create Space, My Other Identity!!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *