January 18, 2013

  • Depression: How Many Suffer From It

    Dear Friends of Xanga,

    I very purposefully have poured out the vessel which I am to you, though at times; I have kept it well hidden as a blogger.  I would very much like to hear from some of you and how you get through periods of depression, or are you among those people who are safely immune from this thief which withers us at most inconvenient times.  I, after many years of study, work with other persons, and work which is apt to follow me all the days  of my life Tfully accept the disease model of depression, and yes — I believe there are catylist in each of our lives which can make it worse, or which draws us out from our dark walks with the demon of depression.

    A purely objectionable look at what depression is thought to be by many is, “It is the difference between our expectations and our realities,” so wouldn’t it be the easiest practice going to work on changing that which we expect, and a behavioral therapist would immediately give you some assignments to work on  helping one to manage our days as such we do not keep the self destructive behaviors of just bouncing back and forth in to our longings for what is hurting us and lead us in a direction of finding what else is out there which will satisfy our needs for a reality which we long for but which, no matter how much we long for it, is never going to be our fate. Bury the past, build a future which is realistic to our life’s circumstances, and just keep working and working to leave the trauma which unbalances the equasion of reality, for only  then are we apt to be able to build and to move on.

    The sheer medical models at looking at what and how your body chemistry can be tweaked by medications is still in a new frontier, and many people do not have the compassion to deal with what they label most unflatteringly as the, “Prozac Personality.”  These fortunate few are apt to wake up each day with little examination of past events and fully determined that depression is a state of over self indulgence, and to them I would loudly and forcefully say that we would trade their unchallenged personalities in a minute if they would agree to take on the curtains which sneak up on our joy and poson our moments with the feeling, “Something is Wrong.”  “We do not want to show dour faces, nor to we wish to spoil other’s ability to shield themselves from vectors of pain which are unseen to them.  Oh; Please, none of  us who have suffered wish to keep playing the deck of cards we were handed..

    Here is some bad news as well, that few people will ever get through this life without hitting bottom at some point, for depression like joy is simply a feeling.  Now mind you there are some sickos out there who do not have the emotion it takes to be labeled as average citizens, and they may just have endorphins which are almost magical and still be able to be empathic, or they may be sociopathic:  They, as sociopaths see themselves as beyond the ordinary human being, and these folks are often criminals, for, “They deserve to feel good at the expense of any one in their way — Even to the extent of becoming black widows or more recent and notorious cases such as those who murder and mame to move anyone or any obstacle which is seen as in defference to their vision of all powerful as well as deserving.  These people would fall in to the realm of demons, and certainly pastors who have raped and brutalized children while preaching the evils of other’s lives are pure example of the sociopath, and these people are too dangerous to be loose in society.  Can anything help them?  According to the most recent studies of their brain on autopsy — The answer is probably not.

    But, Dear Xangans, we can help one and another by being open vessels and letting others view into our hearts.  Most of us know the utmost of lost and of down days.  Most of us recover, and it is the how we do this without being destructive to other human beings.

    So I come to you with my own admissions of imperfection, and I humbly ask others who suffer depression to the point you have needed intervention or expect that it may be in your future.  Share with us; show us; and Please tell me about your coping measures as I have told you about my own, the three days.  I did not tell you that I do not have mania which follows.  Manic depression is among the other most difficult to manage of the illnesses which affect our behavior toward ourselves and to others, for it takes the stricktest of compliance to a medical regimen, so this too, falls in a category where constant monitoring of medications and life long medication will be necessary.

    ,Depression;  Will you share if you suffer the consequences of it.  Is it circumstantial or cyclic; For those are different categories — Normal sadness is not depression, but the feelings are similar.  We are only human who grieve.  I am looking for honest coping skills that we can share, for people are labeled with depression, so you are welcome to use alias, or you can throw your name out there like me, for I long to help those who cannot help themselves.  The door is open, so come in, and share the best way that you can, for most of us are going to be there to console you if that is what you ask of us out of truth and a clean heart.

    It is your turn to walk to the podium.

    Barbara Everett Heintz, Author of, “Pinkhoneysuckle,” on Amazon — Kindle Ready, Among The Darkest of Stories Which Will Leave You In Laughter and In Tears — A Novel of Several Generations of Depressed People and The Madness Which Consummed Many…

     

Comments (1)

  • Hi. This is my very first comment. I have suffered with depression my whole life, or at least as far back as I can remember. It has NOT been easy for me. I have attempted suicide 8 times, It’s a mira le that I am even responding to this blog right now. I do some crazy things to pull myself through. I give myself something amazing to look forward to- a reward to self of sorts. No matter how small that reward may be it’s mine. I also attempt to love myself more….plan a day of pampering myself. And I force myself to make a silly face in the mirror-I have to have something to distract myself! Comedy is also a huge thing in my life, I will watch and or listen to comedy to cheer myself up. Maybe it al sounds crazy,  but it does help me.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *