October 25, 2012

  • Xanga Writers; Try This Site Out!

    Hello fellow writers, friends, and those who wish I would not write so darned much.  I just think we should share what we can find;  We have to help ourselves as writers, for we have seen how quickly the market for writers and books has been so methodically slashed.  It is the E world though, so we try as hard as we can to find a way.  Having been awakened, I have found a site called Roll – er – story;  you will recognize it when you see it,  for I appear to be one of the first saps to try it.  I gave them all of our home numbers, credit card information, and the story of all of your lives as well –NOT–NOT;  I would not do that, but if we can bring some people to their site, and they can help us, then, all right.  It is good to help our friends.  No they make it easy to join, although my site is probablou y now being eatten by some worm like creatures which feed on spiders.  The truth is that we have no place to go except for good old Xanga to get any reasonable advertising, and I do not think that it would do us much good to get down on our knees and to beg Google, for they, along with Amazon, just about own our souls now.  It has been so hard to see book fairs die, to see books selling for dollars, and I can reassure you each and every one ladies and gentlemen that we shall miss the day so of browsing by and by.  Right now it looks great, for you can give arm loads of books this year, but all good things come to an end. 

    I sincerely wish all of my friends well who have books out there.  Winning a first place award in Hollywood for my, “Pinkhoneysuckle,” was among the most wonderful things which has happened to me in 63 years, for you have no idea what I had to get through to write this book.  I was fully unprepared for my sisters to tell me that it was a horrible story, and they did not want to be any part of it;  Well, if you get the book, they are Rose and Violet, and they fully misunderstand that to review a book does not mean to measure it, because you are not even far enough in to the story to know how the author is going to take it.  Their point was that it would hurt the family, and I know that my mother and father would have sat and cried tears of joy when this came out in Hollywood.

    I am still waiting and praying for a film industry person who would tell the story of when the mid south farms were torn to pieces to turn parts of cities in to Appalachian slums, and I mean that.  I am calling for justice for the thousands of Americans who lived on what they had, did not want the government money, and lived with shame and sick children, because they did not have that money;  So I have this book out there, and if Mr. George Clooney who grew up just where the farms left off and the coal mines began is ever sited;  then please tell him that he has his Grapes of Wrath Story, and it will not cost him a whole lot, because people back where I am from, a lot of them,  would give you their shirt.  Do this for us now, for we lived  60 years in the silence of  what became the shame of welfare, the litter that cropped up on our mountains all the way through Kentucky from Tennessee, and do not expect much in the way of quaint little towns until you get to Berea – But the places that used to be on the main highway; A lot of places never recovered, and no one has ever offered a deal where  you can get minimum wage for keeping part of this road all clean.  When I was younger, our little county seat of Winchester, Tennessee had a sweet down town, just mainly one block, but it was there where everyone came to do their business on a Saturday, and there were almost no empty stores.  Thank God for the saving of The Oldham Theater which is a town treasure.  I pray for them to be running reels there, selling hot dogs, and having programs long in to this century.  If we try really hard we can open our little towns again.  I would bed a women’s cooperative bakery could go in right now with a counter for sandwiches and coffee, and I would bet that some men could learn furniture building, and open up another place.  Then a nice home made wedding gown is so much more beautiful than those thrown together at the Bridal shops.  I am full of ideas for the home folks, but they need some help called money to rebuild old towns.  We do not need any more big old impersonal stores to mess up our towns.  We need American industry and know how right now in the old towns which can still be painted and fixed up to still be a place called, “Home.”

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *