July 1, 2013

  • Help Me Xanga Friends!!!

    Dear Friends,

    I was among those who gave to endeavor to save this site called Xanga, but I have been finding it impossible to sign in, so my guess would be that we are basically shut down.  I would like for Vexations and Erika Steele to please contact me if at all possible.  I do not know if I will be seeking other writer’s sites, for so many hundreds of thousands of people are falling for these, “Write Your Own Book Schemes,” which sounded good three years ago when I started it, and Amazon had Create Space as its site of business in South Carolina.  They have expanded, so millions of more books can be written, and getting a hit with your book is like winning the lottery.

    Because I got in before the flood gates were not entirely open for any one to publish a book, then mine is still holding it’s own, but the book buyer has reassured me that national studies show that only secondary book markets are making money just selling new additions at this time.  My gift has been television, radio, B4 64 with Kathryn Raaker,  book awards in summer of 2012, and I would tell any and all of you that after you do write a book; Be prepared to place it in competition early on, for the win in Hollywood was my finest hour.  JM Northern has all kinds of reviews, but the first review you look at is that such places give you a fighting chance at a book award if your book is good enough to be on a shelf and to be considered for film.  You can find hundreds of local competitions, and for those who say, “Do not enter if you have to pay,” then I am going to retort; that rule is out the window, for you need all of the awards which you can collect.  I have finally cleaned up my book, or at least have the clean manuscript to now approve, and everything has been slow for me, because I have been a very ill person physically.  Only someone slightly bent is going to write a book like mine, but I join the crazy artist of one kind or another over the centuries who have battled one problem or the other in their lives.

    You can purchase all of the, “How To Write Books,” and “How To Market,” that you want to, and it is good to join writer’s groups, but make certain that some of these folks advising you has some merit in-so-far as publishing.  New York Times Best Sellers do not have the market they once had, so I am convinced that one might be better to read some, “How To,” but know that these people are making their money by telling you what you probably would best be praying for Guardian Angel help.  You are your best spoke’s person, and you are the one to endeavor to make all of the social contacts which you can.  I give my books to friends and family, because I can, but ask yourself beyond them, “Who will purchase your book.”  I have had angel intervention, and they know who they are, but I have also worked like a dog during my well periods of time.  I felt that telling the truth of my third world Appalachian upbringing, a metaphor for the thousands who suffered along with us and watched that area of southern Appalachia turned in to where many places turn road areas in to trash cans when we, those long years ago, were so independent in growing our own food and preparing as we could for the winter; even peanut butter jars got reused.  I went to a Dairy Queen about twice in all of my high school years, and I hardly knew what a restaurant meal was.  All clothing was recycled, so the story of southern Appalachia, and my own story had some outcomes which would be shockingly good for the movies adults prefer.

    I want someone to tell me what the Xanga story is, for I do not know.  I can usually barely sign in and sign out, and I think they would be well advised to reorganize themselves making a deal with the new computer people like some of us who are older to give us a blogging spot, and advertise it to senior citizens and interested writers over the continents.  Younger people want something flashy, and if it does not have special effects; Then people are just lost.  Look at how great the new computer for adults caught on, for we need what we can do.

    Thank you all; Bless you all, and may the road rise up to greet you–Such from my heritage of the British Isles, and more importantly, “May God Hold You In The Palm Of His Hand.”  I am on Facebook, so look me up, and if this year moves book number one into film or documentary territory, then I will know that so many of my well wishers have come from here.

    Walk In The Light My Friends,

    Barbara Everett Heintz, Book, “Pinkhoneysuckle,” Now on You Tube with programs coming up with Kathryn Raaker on B4 64 Time Warner television.  “Pinkhoneysuckle” is on Tri-State PBS Channel out of Cincinnati with a great radio person, Lee Hay–WVXU, and on radio station, 1160–A Christian Broadcast which crosses the globe.

    I hope that “Pinkhoneysuckle” will encourage others to share their stories, and for the big lie that southern Appalachians went north for spending money, this should end that myth with my book.  I believe every one of these shows can be found on You Tube presently, at least portions of them.

    My book is also available through Joseph Beth Bookstores in the Kentucky, and Ohio markets, and I thank God for the signing.  Believe me, a book signing is harder to get than hen’s teeth, for you no longer are in because you are a local.  The San Francisco and Santa Rosa signings were done for charity.

    Again, my prayers and love,

    Barbara Everett Heintz

     

     

     

     

     

     

Comments (2)

  • Inconceivable points. Sound arguments. Keep going the truly amazing work. web statics

  • @php123 -  Many thanks, and way to go Xanga–Make yourself known as the place to write our thoughts and, for some of us, our books. Blessings and best wishes, Barbara Everett Heintz, Book, Pinkhoneysuckle, Amazon, Kindle, Create Space, as well as programs listed on You Tube with Kathryn Raaker’s B4 64.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *